About QABA’s Applied Behavior Analysis Technician (ABAT®) Certification

The ABAT exam is designed for an entry level interventionist within a 3-tier treatment paradigm which includes: a) direct care instructional staff (behavior technicians), b) experienced lead instructional staff and mid-tier supervisors (QASP-S), and c) supervising behavior analysts who provide collaborative care, program development, and supervision to all staff (QBA). The ABAT implements daily instruction and behavior intervention plans as designed by a master’s level or above professional who is licensed or certified within the scope of applied behavior analysis (ABA) and autism spectrum disorders (ASD). Eligibility standards and passing the exam determine if candidates demonstrate minimal competence as an entry-level paraprofessional to protect the safety and welfare of the public.

The ABAT credential holder must complete approved coursework and meet the required hours of supervised fieldwork. ABATs have a foundational knowledge of ABA and ASD. With supervision and peer support, they provide individualized intervention for each client.

Target audience

Individuals who are high school graduates and have completed 40 hours of training and 15 hours of fieldwork. ABATs are individuals who are interested in working with children and disabilities.

Eligibility Requirements:

  1. Must be at least 18 years old
  2. Possess a high school degree
  3. Must have completed 40 hours of approved ABA, ethics, autism coursework
  4. Training must be developed by an accredited institution or master’s level or above professional who is licensed or credentialed in the scope of the subject matter.
  5. 15 hours of supervised fieldwork
  6. Recommendation from their supervisor
  7. Criminal background check conducted by the QABA® Board through 3rd party (SecureTrac) or attestation letter from their employer.
  8. Successful passing of exam proctored by Examity
  9. Agreement to the QABA code of ethics
  10. Final review of all eligibility criteria at QABA® Board committee meeting before formal credentialing
  11. Placement on public registry
  12. Renewal required every two years including verification of the completion of 20 continuing education units, criminal background check, and agreement to the QABA code of ethics.

Difference between the ABAT, QASP-S, and QBA Credentials

  • The ABAT is an entry level interventionist who serves as a direct one-to-one instructor. They are under the supervision of a QASP-S (mid-tier interventionist) and/or QBA or other master’s level or above licensed or credentialed professional.
  • The QASP-S is a mid-tier interventionist who serves as an experienced instructor and may also provide training to staff/families, monitor the progress of goals and objectives, and provide supervision to entry-level staff. They are under the supervision of a QBA or other master’s level or above licensed or credentialed professional.
  • QBAs are mastery level interventionists who provide ABA program oversight, supervision, assessment, analysis of data, goal development, and other aspects of treatment and ethical integrity.